Ascension Day

Yesterday was Ascension Day, the day that Scripture tells us Jesus left this earth and ascended into heaven. The Gospel of Mark tells us in simple terms that Jesus was taken up into heaven and the disciples began to preach the Gospel. Luke tells us pretty much the same thing. The Book of Acts tells us that after Jesus had ascended into heaven, the disciples stood looking up at the sky. Two angels appeared to them and asked them why they were staring at  the sky and then that Jesus would one day return as they saw Him go.

Jesus ascended into heaven forty days after His resurrection from the dead. Fifty days after His resurrection is Pentecost Sunday — the birthday of the church, for that  is the day the Holy Spirit descended and filled the apostles with His power. This same power is given to us when we believe that Jesus is the Christ and He is our Lord and Saviour. This is the important bit. If we have not surrendered our lives to Him and are not living in complete obedience to His will for us, then we are not His children and we don’t belong to Him.

It is only by His grace and mercy that we can be called children of God. We must be in obedience to His will for us. The Jewish scholar Abraham Heschel put it nicely; paraphrasing Rene Descartes “I think, therefore I am”, he said “I am commanded, therefore I am.” Nicely put, I’d say.

I recently came across  two definitions of grace and mercy that I really like. Grace is God giving us what we do not deserve and mercy is God not giving us what we do deserve.

These are both good definitions, ones that I think I will hold on to for they are worth keeping close to my heart.

About faithfullyhis

My name is Charles Quail and I am a retired Baptist pastor who lives in Dunnville,a small town southeast of Hamilton, Ontario. I also write a weekly column for our local newspaper, The Sachem. It is a column that I have been writing for about eight years. I am married and have two grown daughters. My best buddy was my dog Max, who is now chasing bunny rabbits in sky. I miss him terribly. My reason for wanting to write a blog is friends have told me that this is the next logical step in my writing career. My hope and prayer is that many will be both challenged and blessed by what I write.
This entry was posted in Faith Matters and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ascension Day

  1. Andy Engel says:

    Hello, Dr. Quail… I ran into this by accident while doing some research. I do believe that you are the son of John Quail who was a family friend for quite some time. My email is: andye ‘at symbol’ kos ‘dot’ net. Feel free to contact me!

    • Hello Mr. Engel, yes John Quail was my father. I would like to know more about your connection with him; from the RCMP crest, I would assume that that is your connection. Looking forward to hearing from you. Charles Quail+

Leave a Reply

