My How Time Goes By

Do you remember that as a child summer seemed to last forever? It was like the final minutes of school before it was let out for the summer. It seemed to take forever for the clock on the wall to reach 3:15 p.m.. Summer seemed to go on and on and on. I remember as a child waking up, having breakfast, then out the door and on my bike, sometimes not coming home until dark. My parents never worried about where I was, and someone’s mother always made sure that we were  fed. Summer seemed to be one glorious day after another.

Then I got older and the older I got the quicker time seemed to go by, and now I find myself at almost 64 and wondering where time has gone. I also find myself reflecting on my life’s journey, and I see that although there has been valleys, trials, sorrows and tribulations, there has also been hills. God has given me a wonderful wife (Joy). That means that I wake up with Joy in the morning! He has also given me two beautiful daughters who see their mission in life to keep me humble. Honestly, they love their old man and they take good care of me.

God truly is gracious, for even in times of trial, He gives and gives and gives again. I have found that it is especially in times of trial that shows me His grace. There is always some way in which He makes Himself known. It may be through a phone call, a letter (remember those?), a prayer or something as simple as a hug. I have found that God makes Himself known in the simplest of things. This is something for which I am truly grateful.

About faithfullyhis

My name is Charles Quail and I am a retired Baptist pastor who lives in Dunnville,a small town southeast of Hamilton, Ontario. I also write a weekly column for our local newspaper, The Sachem. It is a column that I have been writing for about eight years. I am married and have two grown daughters. My best buddy was my dog Max, who is now chasing bunny rabbits in sky. I miss him terribly. My reason for wanting to write a blog is friends have told me that this is the next logical step in my writing career. My hope and prayer is that many will be both challenged and blessed by what I write.
This entry was posted in Faith Matters and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My How Time Goes By

  1. Doris Mair says:

    I read your article in this weeks “faith Matters” thank you. Three people/families, that I love are going through very difficult times. I speak to my Minister who says. “you can’t always fix things” and I know that only my prayers will help me and those in pain. Your message this week, touched my heart. thank you and I thank God for seeing it today.

  2. Hi Doris, thank you for your reply. Our God is a faithful God who will never leave us or forsake us. Even when we feel alone, God is with us. There will be times when we feel alone and forsaken, bur even in times like that, God is with us. What we need to do in times like this is refocus ourselves on the eternal truth that God loves us and will never forsake us. We have the promise of Scripture that God is faithful, even when we are faithless. 2Timothy 2:13 tells, “When we are faithless, He remains faithful, for He cannot deny Himself.” This is the eternal truth of God’s Word. It is a promise given, a promise made and a promise kept. Keep looking to God and He will walk with you, wherever you made find yourself. God Bless and keep looking to the One Who is forever faithful and forever true. God Bless, Charles Quail

Leave a Reply

