So This is Christmas

The opening words to John Lennon’s “So This is Christmas” go something like this “So this is Christmas/And what have you done/Another year over/And a new one begun.” The song goes on to describe the hope for peace on earth. But this old world seems so far from having any hope for “peace on earth.” With what is going on in the world, things seem to be so desperate and out of control. In times such as this, is there any hope at all?

Christmas tells us a different story. It tells us of the birth of a Child, One born into desperate poverty and yet was a King. He is the One Who came to bring peace on earth. Yet if this is so, why are things so messed up? It is because of sin in the world for we are fallen creatures. It is because of our disobedience that we are so far from God.

But Christ came to set things right through His birth, His life, His death and His resurrection from the dead. He now reigns as our Intercessor before the Father in heaven. We can now look forward to the day when there will be true peace on earth through the reign of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. We can look to that day with confident hope and expectation.

 

 

 

About faithfullyhis

My name is Charles Quail and I am a retired Baptist pastor who lives in Dunnville,a small town southeast of Hamilton, Ontario. I also write a weekly column for our local newspaper, The Sachem. It is a column that I have been writing for about eight years. I am married and have two grown daughters. My best buddy was my dog Max, who is now chasing bunny rabbits in sky. I miss him terribly. My reason for wanting to write a blog is friends have told me that this is the next logical step in my writing career. My hope and prayer is that many will be both challenged and blessed by what I write.
This entry was posted in Faith Matters and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So This is Christmas

  1. Bob Penhearow says:

    Charles, thank you so very much for your recent post on Christmas. I read it with much joy and may use it in an upcoming sermon. Our family delights in your blog posts. God bless you dear brother – Bob Penhearow

Leave a Reply

