Seek First The Kingdom of God

Matthew 6:33 tells us to “Seek first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.” But what does it mean to seek the Kingdom of God? Indeed what does it mean to seek first the Kingdom of God? I believe that it is all about complete and absolute surrender to God and His will for our lives.

But we like to think that we have some kind of control over our lives, don’t we? We like to think that we are “the master of our fate/The captain of our souls” (Invictus, William Ernest Henley, 1849-1903). I believe that we like to think that we have something to say about how we lives because we feel that it somehow completes us. It is what makes us individuals.

Yet the Scriptures tell us time and again that we are made complete in Jesus. When He comes into our lives, He fills us with His love, gives us His mercy and shows us His grace. Through the work of the Holy Spirit we are made into new people, with a new purpose to serve God.

Seeking first the Kingdom of God is giving our all to the Master. When we do so, He will bless us with His presence in our lives. Ànd all these things will be added unto you. This God`s blessing to us as His people.

About faithfullyhis

My name is Charles Quail and I am a retired Baptist pastor who lives in Dunnville,a small town southeast of Hamilton, Ontario. I also write a weekly column for our local newspaper, The Sachem. It is a column that I have been writing for about eight years. I am married and have two grown daughters. My best buddy was my dog Max, who is now chasing bunny rabbits in sky. I miss him terribly. My reason for wanting to write a blog is friends have told me that this is the next logical step in my writing career. My hope and prayer is that many will be both challenged and blessed by what I write.
This entry was posted in Faith Matters and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

