Still Waiting

You may remember from my last post that I have been diagnosed with esophageal cancer.  The plan is that docs will go in and remove my esophagus  and then reattach wha tis left to my stomach. But I am in a holding pattern regarding regarding when this surgery  will take place. Apparently the surgeon wants me to gain some weight  so I can be stronger for the surgery itself.   It sure is hard being patient! After spending over two months in the hospital, I just want to get this over with! I lost close to 30 pounds while in the hospital.

But God is teaching me something in all of this. He is teaching me to rely on Him as my source of strength to carry on even in the midst of crisis. Everything  is  in His hands anad His will is being worked out in my life. I don’t know what His plans for me are, but I must trust Him that His way is the best way, even though the results may not be what I expected. This operation that I will be having is serious surgery and I must be prepared for anything that may happen.

And so I wait, trusting in God’s perfect timing.

About faithfullyhis

My name is Charles Quail and I am a retired Baptist pastor who lives in Dunnville,a small town southeast of Hamilton, Ontario. I also write a weekly column for our local newspaper, The Sachem. It is a column that I have been writing for about eight years. I am married and have two grown daughters. My best buddy was my dog Max, who is now chasing bunny rabbits in sky. I miss him terribly. My reason for wanting to write a blog is friends have told me that this is the next logical step in my writing career. My hope and prayer is that many will be both challenged and blessed by what I write.
This entry was posted in Faith Matters and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Still Waiting

  1. Al Fry says:

    Rev.Dr. “Chuck”, I admire your strength, determination and strong faith dealing with this illness. I’m a blessed man to know you and to be part of your journey. Our prayers join with yours to see God’s will be done and give testimony to His love and faithfulness. One step at a time following the footprints He has created for you. Love and prayers to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

