Going For a Joy Ride

I now at home recovering from my surgery, and I am beginning to feel a little stronger every day. Although things didn’t go quite as expected, I am confident because I know that I am  in the Lord’s hands.

I would like to tell you about the two days before my surgery.

On Sunday after Church my wife and I decided to go for a “Joy” ride. Since my wife’s name is Joy, that is what that is what we call any unexpected excursions that we go on. So after lunch we headed to Niagara Falls to see the tulips. But when we arrived, it was so busy, we didn’t stay. But we didn’t quite do what my father once did when he took my brother-in-law and his two daughters to see the Falls. When he couldn’t find a parking space, he turned around and went back home without even seeing the Falls.

Instead we went to NIagara-on-the-Lake and had a wonderful time walking around the old town.

The next day we went for another “Joy” ride. MY wife, who wanted to deep my mind from being too occupied on my surgery the next day, suggested that we go see friends in Guelph. But since they did not know we were coming, they were not home.

So instead we decided to go to Anna Mae’s Restaurant and Bakery in MIllbank, Ontario. This is a Mennonite run restaurant that is known for its generous serving sizes and its reasonable prices. They are especially known for their broasted chicken, which is something that is definitely worth writing home about. The “best” deal includes a starter course, the main entry, which includes three pieces of chicken, choice of vegetable and potato, and then pie for dessert. Then you have about 15 different kinds of pie to choose from, all made with Mennonite love. The biggest  difficulty is deciding which one to have, since they are all so good. WE took home with us what we could not eat and also some goodies from their bake shop. It was well worth the drive to MIllbank.

But that wasn’t the only good thing about the day. Jo y and I had some quality time together and enjoyed a drive through a beautiful part of Ontario. It reminded us that the earth is the Lord’s creation and that  we should rejoice in it.

But it also brought to mind that the Lord is with us at all times. It gave us some time to reflect on a verse given to us by a dear friend from Isaiah 11:10″: “Fear not, for I am with you, do not be dismayed for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you, I  will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” (English Standard Version) This verse gave us two things to focus on. Before my surgery it was “fear not for I am with you” and after my surgery it was  “I will strengthen you and I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” This verse reminded us that The Lord is with us no matter where we may find ourselves, and in whatever situation we may be in.

All of this tells me that I am completely in God’s hands and that I can trust HIm for my future . This is something we can all do if we surrender our lives to HIm.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About faithfullyhis

My name is Charles Quail and I am a retired Baptist pastor who lives in Dunnville,a small town southeast of Hamilton, Ontario. I also write a weekly column for our local newspaper, The Sachem. It is a column that I have been writing for about eight years. I am married and have two grown daughters. My best buddy was my dog Max, who is now chasing bunny rabbits in sky. I miss him terribly. My reason for wanting to write a blog is friends have told me that this is the next logical step in my writing career. My hope and prayer is that many will be both challenged and blessed by what I write.
This entry was posted in Faith Matters and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

